Drawing Process of Kuller Cover

In Toronto now… so happy to be back and hence why the lack of posts recently.

I like to document my work and show the stages of how a drawing comes together to the final image.

I start with blue pencil always. Is so handy as you can be  quick and rough and when I scan it and mess with the levels the blue will disappear and your left with just the inks. I like to get the background as “pure” white as I can get and make the blacks “solid”. This was a different approach to drawing as I drew just the one image, text embedded in it. Usually I would have drawn the background, title and character separatly. I just got really into it and ended up just drawing everything together. I coloured it of course in photoshop. Text was a fiddly one but I think has worked out well. It is amazing how colour can change an image. I always love the original black and white drawing but seeing the finished image in colour adds a little something to it. Click the images to get a closer look.

   

Leave a Reply

